Previous Plant Next Plant

Juniperus virginiana 'Burkii'

Burkii Red Cedar /

This Juniper virginian cultivar is a smaller, narrow pyramidal evergreen tree which features dense, ascending branches and attractive bluish-silver foliage. This drought, salt and deer resistant plant acquires a tinge of purple in autumn and berries in fall for our native songbirds.


  • Attractive silvery-blue foliage
  • Makes a lovely evergreen hedge
  • Easy to grow with few pests
  • Native songbirds love its fall berries
  • Deer resistant while providing great cover
  • Drought resistant once established

Homeowner Growing and Maintenance Tips

Easy to grow in full sun. Prefers moist soils, but has the best drought resistance of any conifer native to the eastern U. S. Tolerates a wide range of soils and growing conditions, from swamps to dry rocky areas. Plant in masses to assure good berry set.

10-20 Feet


4-10 Feet

USDA Hardiness Zone 3-9

Native Range

Old fields, pastures, roadsides, balds, and margins of swamps from southern Quebec to southern Ontario, Minnesota and southern Iowa south to Texas and Florida.

Native Trivia

This form of Eastern Red Cedar is prized for its reddish-brown and aromatic heartwood that is commonly used for cedar chests and closets because it repels insects. The wood is also used for interior finish, fence posts, poles and pencils.

"This is such an outstanding food and cover source that over 80 species of my bird buddies use it."

Characteristics & Attributes

Plan Sub Group
  • Conifers
  • Filtered Shade
  • Sun
  • Well-drained
  • Wide soil tolerance
Soil Moisture Preference
  • Average
  • Dry
  • Moist
Attracts Wildlife
  • Mammals
  • Songbirds
Critter Resistance
  • Deer Resistant
  • Rabbit Resistant
Habitat Collection
  • Dry Shade
  • Songbird
Foliage Color
  • Dark Green
  • Green
  • Border
  • Drought tolerant
  • Erosion control
  • Evergreen
  • Ground cover
  • Mass plant
  • Specimen
  • Wind tolerant
Native to
  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • District of Columbia
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Nebraska
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin